Schiff, Padilla et 118 membres du Congrès appellent à l'amélioration des salaires et des conditions de travail des travailleurs des coulisses du divertissement

Washington, D.C. - Aujourd'hui, le député Adam Schiff (D-Calif.) et le sénateur Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), ainsi que 118 sénateurs et membres de la Chambre des représentants, ont envoyé une lettre à l'Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers pour l'exhorter à négocier en collaboration et en toute bonne foi avec les artisans d'Hollywood qui réclament de meilleurs salaires et conditions de travail sur les plateaux de cinéma et de télévision.

Les travailleurs des coulisses tels que les caméramans, les directeurs de la photographie, les monteurs et les directeurs artistiques - les moteurs de l'industrie du divertissement et des arts créatifs - ont joué un rôle essentiel dans le maintien des productions cinématographiques et télévisuelles tout au long de la pandémie de COVID-19, souvent au péril de leur propre santé, sécurité et bien-être. Depuis des mois, l'International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, qui représente 60 000 personnes, négocie un nouveau contrat avec les producteurs. 

"Les questions clés de cette négociation, telles que nous les avons comprises, concernent la dignité des travailleurs et les besoins humains fondamentaux. Nous sommes unis dans notre conviction de l'importance de salaires décents, d'avantages sociaux durables et de périodes de repos raisonnables entre les quarts et pendant la journée de travail". les membres ont écrit dans la lettre. "Nous demandons à l'AMPTP de négocier en collaboration avec ces travailleurs pour parvenir à un contrat équitable et répondre aux besoins humains fondamentaux qui leur permettront de faire leur travail en toute sécurité et avec dignité."

La lettre était dirigée par le représentant Schiff et le sénateur Padilla. Le chef de la majorité au Sénat, Chuck Schumer (N.Y.), le whip de la majorité au Sénat, Dick Durbin (Ill.), et les sénateurs Tammy Balwin (D-Minn.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), et Tammy Baldwin (D-Minn.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaï), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), le révérend Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) et Ron Wyden (D-Ore.). La lettre est également signée par les représentants démocrates Reps. Pete Aguilar (Calif.), Cynthia Axne (Iowa), Nanette Diaz Barragan (Calif.), Karen Bass (Calif.), Earl Blumenauer (Ore.), Suzanne Bonamici (Ore.), Brendan Boyle (Pa.), Julia Brownley (Calif.), Tony Cárdenas (Calif.), André Carson (Ind.), Troy Carter (La.), Judy Chu (Calif.), David Cicilline (R.I.), Bonnie Watson Coleman (N.J.), J. Luis Correa (Calif.), Angie Craig (Minn.), Charlie Crist (Fla.), Danny K. Davis (Ill.), Madeleine Dean (Pa.), Val Demings (Fla.), Theodore Deutch (Fla.), Debbie Dingell (Mich.), Anna G. Eshoo (Calif.), Adriano Espaillat (N.Y.), Bill Foster (Ill.), Jesús García (Ill.), Jimmy Gomez (Calif.), Jahana Hayes (Conn.), Steven Horsford (Nev.), Hakeem Jeffries (N.Y.), Henry C. "Hank" Johnson Jr. (Ga.), Mondaire Jones (N.Y.), Robin L. Kelly (Ill.), Daniel Kildee (Mich.), Andy Kim (N.J.), Raja Krishnamoorthi (Ill.), Ann Kuster (N.H.), Conor Lamb (Pa.), John B. Larson (Conn.), Brenda L. Lawrence (Mich.), Barbara Lee (Calif.), Susie Lee (Nev.), Teresa Leger Fernandez (N.M.), Andy Levin (Mich.), Ted Lieu (Calif.), Zoe Lofgren (Calif.), Alan Lowenthal (Calif.), Stephen F. Lynch (Mass.), Carolyn Maloney (N.Y.), Tom Malinowski (N.J.), Betty McCollum (Minn.), James P. McGovern (Mass.), Grace Meng (N.Y.), Kweisi Mfume (Md.), Joseph D. Morelle (N.Y.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Grace Napolitano (Calif.), Joe Neguse (Colo.), Marie Newman (Ill.), Donald Norcross (N..J.), Eleanor Norton (D.C.), Scott H. Peters (Calif.), Charlie Pingree (Maine), Mark Pocan (Wis.), Katie Porter (Calif.), Mike Quigley (Ill.), Jamie Raskin (Md.), Kathleen M. Rice (N.Y.), Deborah K. Ross (N.C.), Bobby L. Rush (Ill.), Linda Sánchez (Calif.), Mary Gay Scanlon (Pa.), Janice Schakowsky (Ill.), Brad Sherman (Calif.), Bradley Scott Schneider (Ill.), Mikie Sherrill (N.J.), Darren Soto (Fla.), Melanie Stansbury (N.M.), Haley M. Stevens (Mich.), Thomas Suozzi (N.Y.), Dina Titus (Nev.), Rashida Tlaib (Mich.), Norma Torres (Calif.), David J. Trone (Md.), Juan Vargas (Calif.), Peter Welch (Vt.), Susan Wild (Pa.) et Frederica S. Wilson (Fla.).

Cliquez sur ici pour lire la lettre ou lire le texte complet ci-dessous :

Chère Mme Lombardini :

En tant que représentants élus des électeurs qui gagnent leur vie en travaillant dans les coulisses de la production cinématographique et télévisuelle, nous vous exhortons à négocier des contrats de succession équitables avec l'Alliance internationale des employés de scène de théâtre (IATSE). Nous soutenons les principes de sommeil adéquat, de pauses repas et de salaires décents pour tous les travailleurs.

Ces travailleurs ont risqué leur santé et leur sécurité au cours de l'année dernière, travaillant pendant la pandémie de COVID-19 pour faire en sorte que l'industrie de la production cinématographique et télévisuelle en sorte intacte. La production a maintenant retrouvé son niveau d'avant la pandémie, en grande partie grâce au rôle essentiel que jouent ces travailleurs dans le processus de création. Le divertissement que vous produisez ensemble contribue à la guérison de notre nation.

Le contrat en cours de négociation couvre environ 60 000 travailleurs de la production cinématographique et télévisuelle dans tout le pays. L'impossibilité de parvenir à un accord menacerait non seulement les moyens de subsistance de ces travailleurs, mais aussi les membres de leur famille qui dépendent d'un travail dans votre secteur, ce qui provoquerait des ondes de choc dans l'économie américaine et dans l'industrie.

Les principaux enjeux de cette négociation, tels que nous les avons compris, concernent la dignité des travailleurs et les besoins humains fondamentaux. Nous sommes unis dans notre conviction de l'importance de salaires décents, d'avantages sociaux durables et de périodes de repos raisonnables entre les quarts et pendant la journée de travail. 

Il semblerait que les membres de l'IATSE se mobilisent en vue d'un vote d'autorisation de grève à l'échelle nationale le 1er octobre 2021, en raison de l'annonce que l'AMPTP n'a pas l'intention de faire une contre-offre. Une grève perturberait considérablement l'industrie, l'économie et les communautés que nous représentons. Nous espérons que les deux parties pourront négocier de bonne foi et parvenir à un accord consensuel, ce qui nécessite que les deux parties continuent de participer aux négociations en cours.

Nous demandons à l'AMPTP de négocier en collaboration avec ces travailleurs afin de parvenir à un contrat équitable et de répondre aux besoins humains fondamentaux qui leur permettront de faire leur travail en toute sécurité et avec dignité.

Sincèrement,

Membres du Congrès

# # #

L'International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees ou IATSE (nom complet : International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), est un syndicat qui représente plus de 150 000 techniciens, artisans et ouvriers de l'industrie du spectacle, y compris le théâtre, la production de films et la télévision, la radiodiffusion et les salons professionnels aux États-Unis et au Canada.

PARTAGER SUR
Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur email
Courriel :
Partager sur print
Imprimer

Copyright 2021 IATSE. Tous droits réservés.

Français du Canada

Schiff, Padilla and 118 Members of Congress Call for Improved Wages and Working Conditions for Behind-the-Scenes Entertainment Workers

Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Adam Schiff (D-Calif.) and Senator Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), along with 118 Senators and Members of the House sent a letter to the Alliance of Motion Picture and Television Producers urging the association to negotiate collaboratively and in good faith with Hollywood craft workers advocating for improved wages and working conditions on movie and television sets.

Behind-the-scenes workers such as camera operators, cinematographers, editors, and art directors – the engines of the entertainment industry and creative arts – have played an essential role in keeping film and television productions running throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, often at risk to their own health, safety, and well-being. For months, the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, which represents 60,000 individuals, has been negotiating a new contract with the producers. 

“The key issues in this negotiation, as we’ve come to understand them, are about worker dignity and basic human necessities. We are unified in our belief in the importance of living wages, sustainable benefits, and reasonable rest periods between shifts and during the workday,” the members wrote in the letter. “We ask that the AMPTP negotiate collaboratively with these workers to reach a fair contract and address the basic human needs that will allow them to do their jobs safely and with dignity.”

The letter was led by Rep. Schiff and Sen. Padilla. Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (N.Y.) and Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (Ill.), and Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-Minn.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Reverend Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.). The letter is also signed by Democratic Reps. Pete Aguilar (Calif.), Cynthia Axne (Iowa), Nanette Diaz Barragan (Calif.), Karen Bass (Calif.), Earl Blumenauer (Ore.), Suzanne Bonamici (Ore.), Brendan Boyle (Pa.), Julia Brownley (Calif.), Tony Cárdenas (Calif.), André Carson (Ind.), Troy Carter (La.), Judy Chu (Calif.), David Cicilline (R.I.), Bonnie Watson Coleman (N.J.), J. Luis Correa (Calif.), Angie Craig (Minn.), Charlie Crist (Fla.), Danny K. Davis (Ill.), Madeleine Dean (Pa.), Val Demings (Fla.), Theodore Deutch (Fla.), Debbie Dingell (Mich.), Anna G. Eshoo (Calif.), Adriano Espaillat (N.Y.), Bill Foster (Ill.), Jesús García (Ill.), Jimmy Gomez (Calif.), Jahana Hayes (Conn.), Steven Horsford (Nev.), Hakeem Jeffries (N.Y.), Henry C. “Hank” Johnson Jr. (Ga.), Mondaire Jones (N.Y.), Robin L. Kelly (Ill.), Daniel Kildee (Mich.), Andy Kim (N.J.), Raja Krishnamoorthi (Ill.), Ann Kuster (N.H.), Conor Lamb (Pa.), John B. Larson (Conn.), Brenda L. Lawrence (Mich.), Barbara Lee (Calif.), Susie Lee (Nev.), Teresa Leger Fernandez (N.M.), Andy Levin (Mich.), Ted Lieu (Calif.), Zoe Lofgren (Calif.), Alan Lowenthal (Calif.), Stephen F. Lynch (Mass.), Carolyn Maloney (N.Y.), Tom Malinowski (N.J.), Betty McCollum (Minn.), James P. McGovern (Mass.), Grace Meng (N.Y.), Kweisi Mfume (Md.), Joseph D. Morelle (N.Y.), Jerrold Nadler (N.Y.), Grace Napolitano (Calif.), Joe Neguse (Colo.), Marie Newman (Ill.), Donald Norcross (N.J.), Eleanor Norton (D.C.), Scott H. Peters (Calif.), Charlie Pingree (Maine), Mark Pocan (Wis.), Katie Porter (Calif.), Mike Quigley (Ill.), Jamie Raskin (Md.), Kathleen M. Rice (N.Y.), Deborah K. Ross (N.C.), Bobby L. Rush (Ill.), Linda Sánchez (Calif.), Mary Gay Scanlon (Pa.), Janice Schakowsky (Ill.), Brad Sherman (Calif.), Bradley Scott Schneider (Ill.), Mikie Sherrill (N.J.), Darren Soto (Fla.), Melanie Stansbury (N.M.), Haley M. Stevens (Mich.), Thomas Suozzi (N.Y.), Dina Titus (Nev.), Rashida Tlaib (Mich.), Norma Torres (Calif.), David J. Trone (Md.), Juan Vargas (Calif.), Peter Welch (Vt.), Susan Wild (Pa.), and Frederica S. Wilson (Fla.).

Click here to read the letter or read the full text below:

Dear Ms. Lombardini:

As the elected representatives of constituents who make a living working behind-the-scenes in motion picture and television production, we urge you to negotiate fair successor contracts with the International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (IATSE). We support the principles of adequate sleep, meal breaks and living wages for all workers.

These workers have risked their health and safety for the last year, working through the COVID-19 pandemic to ensure that the motion picture and television production industry emerged intact. Production has now returned to pre-pandemic levels, due in no small part to the essential role these workers play in the creative process. The entertainment you jointly produce is helping to heal our nation.

The current contract under negotiation covers approximately 60,000 motion picture and television production workers across the country. Failure to reach an agreement would threaten not only the livelihoods of these workers, but also their family members who rely upon work in your industry, sending shockwaves throughout the U.S. economy and the industry.

The key issues in this negotiation, as we’ve come to understand them, are about worker dignity and basic human necessities. We are united in our belief in the importance of livable wages, sustainable benefits, and reasonable rest periods between shifts and during the workday. 

Reportedly, IATSE members are mobilizing in preparation for a nationwide strike authorization vote on October 1, 2021, because of the announcement that AMPTP does not intend to make a counteroffer. A strike would dramatically disrupt the industry, the economy, and the communities we represent. We are hopeful that both sides can negotiate in good faith and reach a consensus agreement, which necessitates both parties continuing to participate in ongoing negotiations.

We ask that the AMPTP negotiate collaboratively with these workers to reach a fair contract and address the basic human needs that will allow them to do their jobs safely and with dignity.

Sincerely,

Members of Congress

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 150,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live theatre, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

SHARE ON
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on email
Email
Share on print
Print

© Copyright 2021 IATSE. All Rights Reserved.

English