fbpx

L'IATSE et la communauté théâtrale pleurent un grand ami

IATSE Announces Agreement with NETworks

New York - L'IATSE pleure la disparition, le 19 décembre, de notre cher ami Irving Cheskin, qui a travaillé pendant près de cinquante ans avec une énergie inébranlable au nom des fonds de retraite et d'assurance maladie de l'industrie du spectacle. Il avait 94 ans lorsqu'il est décédé et travaillait toujours en tant que consultant pour la Broadway League. Bien-aimé des deux côtés de la table des négociations, Irving sera toujours considéré comme "le père" de presque tous les régimes d'assurance maladie, de retraite et de pension dont bénéficient aujourd'hui plus de 100 000 travailleurs du spectacle dans tout le pays.

Le président d'IA International, Matthew D. Loeb, a déclaré : "Nous avons perdu une voix importante et bienveillante dans le monde du spectacle, et un véritable ami. Peu de personnes, dans toutes les facettes de notre industrie, ont travaillé aussi longtemps et inlassablement pour le bénéfice de ceux qui travaillent dans les diverses industries dans lesquelles nous représentons les travailleurs. Il était un défenseur de ces derniers et il nous manquera énormément."

Irving a été directeur exécutif de la Broadway League, alors connue sous le nom de League of New York Theatres, de 1961 à 1982. En 1967, il a contribué à l'obtention d'un contrat de télévision de réseau pour la cérémonie des Tony Awards, qui n'en était qu'à ses débuts, assurant ainsi à cet événement annuel désormais très attendu la reconnaissance qu'il mérite. En 1973, la League élargit son champ d'action pour englober l'industrie des tournées de Broadway, et change de nom pour devenir la League of American Theatres and Producers. En 1982, M. Irving est devenu le directeur des pensions et de la protection sociale de la League, maintenant appelée Employee Benefit Funds. Il a quitté son poste de codirecteur à l'âge de 94 ans, mais a continué à travailler pour la League en tant que consultant.

Le mardi 23 décembre, à 19 heures précises, les marquises de tous les théâtres de Broadway ont été obscurcies pendant une minute en son honneur.

Nous présentons nos sincères condoléances à Mildred, son épouse depuis 67 ans, qui lui survit.

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 168,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter :
Général : comms@iatse.net
Presse : press@iatse.net

PARTAGER SUR
Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur reddit
Reddit
Partager sur email
Courriel :
Français du Canada

Merci de vous être inscrit !

Veuillez le présenter au sergent d'armes pour l'inscription.

Rappel : Vous devrez vous réinscrire pour chaque jour de la réunion du Conseil exécutif général.

fbpx

IATSE, Theatre Community, Mourn a Great Friend

IATSE Announces Agreement with NETworks

New York – The IATSE is mourning the December 19 loss of our dear friend Irving Cheskin, who worked for almost fifty years with unwavering energy on behalf of the entertainment industry’s retirement and health benefit funds. He was 94 when he died and still working as a consultant to the Broadway League. Beloved on both sides of the negotiating table, Irving will always be considered “the father” of almost every health, retirement and pension benefit plan enjoyed today by over 100,000 workers in entertainment across the country.

IA International President Matthew D. Loeb said, “We have lost a great and caring voice in the world of entertainment, and a true friend. There are few people in any facet of our industry who have worked as long and tirelessly for the benefit of those working in the various industries in which we represent working people. He was an advocate for them and we will miss him dearly.”

Irving was Executive Director of the Broadway League, then known as the League of New York Theatres, from 1961 to 1982. In 1967, he helped secure a network television deal for the foundering Tony Awards, ensuring that this now widely anticipated annual event has the recognition it deserves. In 1973, the League broadened its scope to embrace the touring Broadway industry, and changed its name to the League of American Theatres and Producers. In 1982, Irving became the League’s Director of Pension & Welfare, now called Employee Benefit Funds. He stepped down as Co-Director at the age of 94, but continued to work for the League as a consultant.

On Tuesday, December 23, at exactly 7:00 p.m., the marquees of all Broadway theatres were dimmed for one minute in his honor.

Our heartfelt condolences go to Mildred, his wife of 67 years, who survives him.

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 160,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

For more information please contact:
General: comms@iatse.net
Press: press@iatse.net

SHARE ON
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email
English