fbpx

L'IATSE salue la création de postes de responsables de la diversité au NEA et au NEH

WASHINGTON, DC - Mercredi, lors de l'audition du House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies sur le budget de l'exercice 2023, les présidentes Maria Rosario Jackson du National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) et Shelly Lowe du National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) ont annoncé leur intention de créer des postes de Chief Diversity Officer au sein de leurs agences respectives. Cette initiative permettra d'assurer une répartition plus équitable des subventions fédérales aux arts et de soutenir les opportunités de carrière dans l'économie créative américaine pour les personnes issues de communautés sous-représentées dans nos industries.

Kimberly Butler-Gilkeson, co-présidente du comité Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) de l'IATSE, a déclaré : "En tant que membres actifs dans les secteurs des arts, du divertissement et des médias, nous voyons directement comment le financement du NEA et du NEH peut affecter le changement et favoriser la croissance créative d'un programme artistique ayant besoin de soutien. Notre organisation est convaincue qu'il est du devoir de la NEA et de la NEH d'apporter ce travail à autant de sections diverses de la population que possible."

Liz Pecos, représentante internationale et co-présidente de la commission DEI de l'IATSE, a déclaré : " La diversité dans les industries des arts, du divertissement et des médias ne peut réussir que si les systèmes d'accès actuels sont améliorés. En tant que comité dédié à la facilitation du changement culturel qui valorise intentionnellement une diversité de perspectives, d'origines et de croyances, nous applaudissons le NEA et le NEH pour avoir pris des mesures visant à encourager la DEI dans les arts et les sciences humaines. La création de postes de responsables de la diversité était une proposition clé du programme politique de la DPE pour faire progresser la DEI dans nos industries, et nous reconnaissons l'importance de ce progrès."

En février 2021, les syndicats du spectacle du Département des employés professionnels, AFL-CIO (DPE), ont annoncé leur collaboration avec le ministère de la Justice. Agenda politique pour la promotion de la diversité, de l'équité et de l'inclusion dans les industries des arts, du divertissement et des médias. Notre plaidoyer collectif a servi de force motrice à ce changement, puisque le programme politique de la DPE a été l'un des premiers à demander la création de postes de responsables de la diversité au sein de la NEA et de la NEH.

L'équité et l'inclusion sont essentielles, non seulement pour faire ce qui est juste, mais aussi pour la viabilité à long terme du secteur créatif.

# # #

L'International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees ou IATSE (nom complet : International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), est un syndicat qui représente plus de 160 000 techniciens, artisans et ouvriers dans l'industrie du divertissement, y compris les événements en direct, la production cinématographique et télévisuelle, la diffusion et les salons professionnels aux États-Unis et au Canada.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter :
Général : comms@iatse.net
Presse : press@iatse.net

PARTAGER SUR
Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur reddit
Reddit
Partager sur email
Courriel :

Copyright 2022 IATSE. Tous droits réservés.

Français du Canada

fbpx

IATSE Praises Creation of Chief Diversity Officers at the NEA, NEH

WASHINGTON, DC – On Wednesday, at the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies hearing on the FY 2023 budget, Chairs Dr. Maria Rosario Jackson of the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and Shelly Lowe of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) announced their intentions to establish Chief Diversity Officer positions within their respective agencies. This move will help ensure a more equitable allocation of federal arts grants and support career opportunities in America’s creative economy for people from communities that are underrepresented in our industries.

Kimberly Butler-Gilkeson, co-chair of IATSE’s Diversity Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee said, “As working members in the arts, entertainment & media industries, we see first-hand how funding from the NEA and NEH can affect change and foster creative growth for an arts program in need of support. Our organization feels strongly that it is the duty of the NEA and NEH to bring this work to as many diverse sections of the population as possible.”

Liz Pecos, International Representative and co-chair of IATSE’s DEI Committee said, “Diversity in the arts, entertainment and media industries cannot be successful unless current systems of access are enhanced. As a committee dedicated to facilitating cultural change that intentionally values a diversity of perspectives, backgrounds, and beliefs, we applaud the NEA and NEH for taking steps toward fostering DEI in the arts and humanities. The establishment of Chief Diversity Officers was a key proposal in the DPE policy agenda for advancing DEI in our industries, and we acknowledge the importance of this progress.”

In February 2021, the entertainment unions of the Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO (DPE) announced our joint Policy Agenda for Advancing Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Arts, Entertainment, and Media Industries. Our collective advocacy served as a driving force behind this change, as the DPE policy agenda was among the first to call for Chief Diversity Officer roles at the NEA and NEH.IATSE praises the leadership of NEA Chair Dr. Jackson and NEH Chair Lowe for acting on our recommendation and taking steps to foster a more inclusive and representative entertainment industry.

Equity and inclusion are essential, not only as a matter of doing what is right, but also for the long-term sustainability of the creative sector.

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 160,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

For more information please contact:
General: comms@iatse.net
Press: press@iatse.net

SHARE ON
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email
English