DGA Honors President Loeb

IA President Short Appoints Safety Chairman

New York – International President Matthew D. Loeb was honored last night by the Directors Guild of America as part of their annual DGA Honors event held at the DGA Theater here.  DGA Honors celebrates individuals and institutions that have made distinguished contributions to American culture through the worlds of film and television, while also lauding the diversity of achievement in business, government, labor and higher education required to produce the best entertainment in the world.

Recipients of the 2011 DGA Honors in addition to Pres. Loeb are director/writer/producer Nora Ephron, U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and HBO Documentary Films President Sheila Nevins.  The program also featured a special posthumous tribute to pioneering female filmmaker Alice Guy Blaché.

DGA President Taylor Hackford and DGA National Executive Director Jay D. Roth presented the award to President Loeb.  Actor/comedian Richard Belzer was the host of the event, while other presenters included Meryl Streep, Helen Mirren, Steve Soderbergh, and Martin Scorsese.

Said President Loeb, “I’m deeply gratified to be recognized by the DGA in such outstanding company.  The IATSE has a terrific working relationship with the DGA which I look forward to continuing for many years to come.”

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 170,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

For more information please contact:
General: comms@iatse.net
Press: press@iatse.net


Thank you for signing in!

Please present this to the Sergeant-at-Arms for entry.

Reminder: You will need to sign in again for each day of the General Executive Board Meeting.