Accountability Alert: Fast Track Approved

IATSE General Board Endorses Obama 2nd Term

The final vote in the U.S. Senate yesterday on Fast Track was quite disappointing, with passage by a vote of 60 to 38. The Fast Track bill will now be sent directly to President Obama’s desk.

Members of the U. S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives must be held accountable for their actions.  Below is a list of the 13 Senators and 28 members of the House of Representatives who voted against the house of labor.

The following is a list of those 13 Senate Democrats and 28 members of the House who voted WRONG on Fast Track:


AL-07 Terri Sewell
CA-07 Ami Bera
CA-16 Jim Costa
CA-20 Sam Farr
CA-52 Scott Peters
CA-53 Susan Davis
CO-02 Jared Polis
CT-04 Jim Himes
FL-23 Debbie Wasserman Schultz
IL-05 Mike Quigley
MD-06 John Delaney
NE-02 Brad Ashford
NY-04 Kathleen Rice
NY-05 Gregory Meeks
OR-01 Suzanne Bonamici
OR-03 Earl Blumenauer
OR-05 Kurt Schrader
TN-05 Jim Cooper
TX-15 Rubén Hinojosa
TX-16 Beto O’Rourke
TX-28 Henry Cuellar
TX-30 Eddie Bernice Johnson
VA-08 Don Beyer
VA-11 Gerry Connolly
WA-01 Suzan DelBene
WA-02 Rick Larsen
WA-06 Derek Kilmer
WI-03 Ron Kind


CA Dianne Feinstein
CO Michael Bennet
DE Tom Carper
DE Chris Coons
FL Bill Nelson
MO Claire McCaskill
NH Jeanne Shaheen
ND Heidi Heitkamp
OR Ron Wyden
VA Tim Kaine
VA Mark Warner
WA Maria Cantwell
WA Patty Murray

AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka sent a letter to members of the Senate and the House expressing labor’s concerns and the following is an excerpt from these letters:

Congress has now approved fast track authority, which will give the executive branch the opportunity to negotiate—in secret—as many trade agreements as it can through at least June 30, 2018 (and likely through 2021). Fast track 2015 fails to hold the executive branch accountable for achieving negotiating objectives, addressing the U.S. trade imbalance, or ensuring that trade deals adequately protect good jobs, workers’ rights, environmental protections, access to affordable medicines, food safety, and other vital protections for working families.

We will now redouble our efforts to shape and improve U.S. trade policy. We will vigorously oppose TPP if it continues on its current course – with problematic provisions on investor-state-dispute settlement, procurement and intellectual property rights; without any protections against currency manipulation; with weak rules of origin; and with inadequate protections for workers’ and human rights and the environment. We will continue to work closely with Congress and with our allies in the environmental, consumer, human rights, family farm, faith, development, domestic business, immigrants’, women’s and internet privacy rights organizations – among many others – to educate and mobilize our members and the American public about what a good trade policy ought to be and why this one falls short.

IATSE Locals and Members are urged to call your Senators to hold them accountable for voting for Fast Track, or to thank them for voting no.

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 170,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

For more information please contact:
General: comms@iatse.net
Press: press@iatse.net


Thank you for signing in!

Please present this to the Sergeant-at-Arms for entry.

Reminder: You will need to sign in again for each day of the General Executive Board Meeting.