fbpx

Victoire des travaillistes en Saskatchewan

IATSE Canada logo

REGINA, SK, 22 février - Au cours de l'été, la Fédération du travail de la Saskatchewan et 25 syndicats affiliés, dont la section locale 295 de l'IATSE, ont déposé leur argumentation juridique devant la Cour du Banc de la Reine de la Saskatchewan. L'argumentation portait sur la contestation de la Charte par la SFL contre la législation anti-travailleurs et anti-syndicale inconstitutionnelle du gouvernement du Parti de la Saskatchewan, qui a été introduite en 2007/2008 par le gouvernement Wall.

La SFL a déposé son argumentation juridique de 230 pages et a soumis des milliers de pages de preuves. Trois syndicats intervenants ont également déposé des milliers de pages supplémentaires d'arguments et de preuves. Les arguments des syndicats intervenants renforcent le fait que les projets de loi 5 et 6, mal conçus, violent les droits constitutionnels des travailleurs tels que définis dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Le 6 février 2012, le juge Dennis Ball a rendu une décision en faveur des syndicats, déclarant : " J'ai déterminé que les droits de négociation collective et de grève sont protégés par l'alinéa 2d) de la Charte. La Loi sur les services essentiels des services publics porte atteinte à ces droits en habilitant tous les employeurs du secteur public à prendre des décisions non révisables qui peuvent effectivement empêcher la capacité de leurs employés de s'engager dans une action de grève significative, et donc de s'engager dans une négociation collective significative. "

Le président de la SFL, Larry Hubich, a déclaré qu'il s'agissait d'une " décision extrêmement importante pour les travailleurs, non seulement en Saskatchewan, mais pour ceux de tout le pays. Un message important a maintenant été envoyé aux assemblées législatives de la Colombie-Britannique aux Maritimes : les droits des travailleurs en vertu de la Charte sont plus importants que l'idéologie de tout gouvernement. "

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 168,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez contacter :
Général : comms@iatse.net
Presse : press@iatse.net

PARTAGER SUR
Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn
Partager sur reddit
Reddit
Partager sur email
Courriel :
Français du Canada

Merci de vous être inscrit !

Veuillez le présenter au sergent d'armes pour l'inscription.

Rappel : Vous devrez vous réinscrire pour chaque jour de la réunion du Conseil exécutif général.

fbpx

Victory for Labour in Saskatchewan

IATSE Canada logo

REGINA, SK, February 22 – Over the summer, the Saskatchewan Federation of Labour and 25 affiliate unions, including IATSE Local 295, filed its legal argument in the Saskatchewan Court of Queen’s Bench.  The argument related to the Charter Challenge by the SFL against the Saskatchewan Party government’s unconstitutional anti-worker and anti-union legislation, which was introduced in 2007/2008 by the Wall government.

The SFL filed its 230-page legal argument and submitted thousands of pages of evidence.Three intervenor unions also filed thousands of additional pages of argument and evidence. The arguments of the intervenor unions reinforced that the ill-conceived Bill 5 and Bill 6 violate workers constitutional rights as outlined in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

On February 6, 2012, Judge Dennis Ball ruled in favour of the unions, stating, “I have determined that the rights to bargain collectively and to strike are protected by s. 2(d) of the Charter. The Public Services Essential Services Act infringes on those rights by empowering all public sector employers to make non-reviewable decisions that can effectively preclude the capacity of their employees to engage in meaningful strike action, and thus to engage in meaningful collective bargaining.”

SFL President Larry Hubich declared this “an extremely important decision for working people, not only in Saskatchewan, but for those across the country. An important message has now been sent to Legislatures from B.C. to the Maritimes: that working people’s Charter rights are more important than any government’s ideology.”

# # #

The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees or IATSE (full name: International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada), is a labor union representing over 160,000 technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live events, motion picture and television production, broadcast, and trade shows in the United States and Canada.

SHARE ON
Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on reddit
Reddit
Share on email
Email

© Copyright 2022 IATSE. All Rights Reserved.

English